Best position: Jonny Bellis 3rd in 2007
Most starters: 5 in 2000, 2001, 2002 and 2006
Most finishers: 3 in 2001, 2002, 2006 and 2007

2007 ? Stuttgart
Winner: Peter Velits (Slovakia)
British starters / finishers: 3/3
3rd Jonny Bellis same time
67th Ian Stannard at 2-21
75th Ben Swift at 4-48

2006 ? Salzburg
Winner: Gerald Ciolek (Germany)
British starters / finishers: 3/5
11th Mark Cavendish at 5sec
125th Ian Stannard at 8-02
127th Ben Greenwood at 8-02
DNF Geraint Thomas
DNF Andrew Tennant

2005 ? Madrid
Winner: Dmitriy Grabrovsky (Ukraine)
British starters / finishers: 2/3
14th Mark Cavendish at 34sec
93rd Geraint Thomas at 4-10
DNF Kieran Page

2004 ? Verona
Winner: Kanstantsin Siutsou (Belarus)
British starters / finishers: 0/4
DNF Dan Fleeman
DNF Evan Oliphant
DNF Kieran Page
DNF Jonathan Tiernan-Locke

2003 ? Hamilton
Winner: Sergey Lagutin (Uzbekistan)
British starters / finishers: 1/3
59th Tom Southam at 42sec
DNF Graham Briggs
DNF James Flanagan

2002 ? Zolder
Winner: Francesco Chicchi (Italy)
British starters / finishers: 3/5
12th Yanto Barker same time
67th Tom Southam same time
123rd Jamie Alberts at 3-32
DNF Mark Kelly
DNF Dan Lloyd

2001 ? Lisbon
Winner: Yaroslav Popovych (Ukraine)
British starters / finishers: 3/5
26th Robin Sharman at 4-32
54th Yanto Barker at 10-17
82nd Kristian House at 10-17
DNF Jamie Alberts
DNF Neil Swithenbank

2000 ? Plouay
Winner: Evgeny Petrov (Russia)
British starters / finishers: 1/5
44th Russell Downing at 32sec
DNF Robin Sharman
DNF Tom Southam
DNF Jamie Alberts
DNF Neil Swithenbank

1999 ? Verona
Winner: Leonardo Giordani (Italy)
British starters / finishers: 1/4
26th Jamie Burrow
DNF Yanto Barker
DNF Charly Wegelius
DNF Phil West

1998 ? Valkenburg
Winner: Ivan Basso (Italy)
British starters / finishers: 2/4
54th Charly Wegelius at 38sec
67th Richard Hobby at 1-29
DNF Russell Downing
DNF Matt Bottrill

Brits in the men’s world road race 1998-2007>>
Brits in the women’s world road race 1998-2007>>
Brits in the under-23 world road race 1998-2007>>
Britain’s road world championships medal winners>>

This article is from

Cycling Weekly – In print and online, Cycling Weekly is the best source of breaking news, race reportage, reliable fitness advice, trustworthy product reviews and inspirational features. First published in 1891, the magazine has an amazing and unrivalled heritage, having been at the heart of British cycling for over 120 years.

Subscribe to Cycling Weekly in print » | Read the digital edition »