A strong British contingent gives high hopes of a first home victory in the Tour of Britain since the event’s revival in 2004.

The Tour starts in Scunthorpe tomorrow (Saturday) with 24 British riders scheduled to be on the start line.

Last year Steve Cummings of Barloworld was runner-up to Frenchman Geoffroy Lequatre overall – the best performance by a British rider since Robert Millar won the Kellogg’s Tour of Britain in 1989.

Even with the likes of Roger Hammond and David Millar racing at the Vuelta a Espana, and Mark Cavendish and Jeremy Hunt, who have been at the Tour of Missouri, absent, there’s a strong British presence.

Motivation will be high too, with places in the World Championship team potentially at stake.

And with Cummings, Chris Froome, Geraint Thomas, Russell Downing and Ian Stannard all confirmed as Team Sky riders for 2010 there’s even more reason to impress on home soil.

But can one of the British riders win the race?

After his ride at the Tour of Ireland, Downing will be one of the favourites. Or maybe it will be Ben Swift, who has won the king of the mountains competition in the Tour of Britain before, who will impress? What about Cummings and Stannard, who were second and third last year? Or perhaps Dan Lloyd or Chris Froome, who are both good climbers? While he won’t win overall, it’s remarkable to think that Malcolm Elliott won the Kellogg’s Tour of Britain overall in 1988, 21 years ago, when Swift and Stannard were still in nappies.

This is also a great chance to see many of Team Sky’s new recruits in action for the first time since the announcements were made.

As well as the British riders who will be in their colours next year, there’s also Edvald Boasson Hagen and Thomas Lövkvist, riding for Columbia-HTC and Lars Petter Nordhaug (Joker-Bianchi) in action this week.

Who do you think will be Britain’s best-placed rider overall come London on September 19? Make your pick in the comments section below.



Steve Cummings

Chris Froome

Geraint Thomas

Rapha Condor

Kristian House

Chris Newton

Simon Richardson

Tom Southam

CandiTV-Marshalls Pasta

Russell Downing

Graham Briggs

Malcolm Elliott

Dale Appleby

James Sampson

Peter Williams


Bradley Wiggins


Dan Lloyd

Dan Fleeman


Ben Swift

Halfords Bikehut

Ed Clancy

Rob Hayles

Mark McNally

Rob Partridge

Ian Bibby

Ian Wilkinson


Ian Stannard



1st Mauricio Ardila (Colombia) Chocolade Jacques

12th Roger Hammond (Great Britain) Mrbookmaker.com


1st Nick Nuyens (Belgium) Quick Step

9th Yanto Barker (Great Britain) DFL


1st Martin Pedersen (Denmark) CSC

9th Russell Downing (Great Britain) DFL


1st Romain Feillu (France) Agritubel

16th Evan Oliphant (Great Britain) DFL


1st Geoffroy Lequatre (France) Agritubel

2nd Steve Cummings (Great Britain) Barloworld


2005 Roger Hammond (Blackpool)

2006 Roger Hammond (Liverpool)

2007 Mark Cavendish (Crystal Palace)

2007 Mark Cavendish (Southampton)

2007 Paul Manning (Glasgow)

Realted links

Tour of Britain 2009: Cycling Weekly’s full coverage index

This article is from

Cycling Weekly – In print and online, Cycling Weekly is the best source of breaking news, race reportage, reliable fitness advice, trustworthy product reviews and inspirational features. First published in 1891, the magazine has an amazing and unrivalled heritage, having been at the heart of British cycling for over 120 years.

Subscribe to Cycling Weekly in print » | Read the digital edition »

  • Gavin

    Russell Downing

  • jonporter

    Russell Downing for me – even tho’ his squad is not the strongest, he showed what he can do in the ToI…go Fonzy go