Major race wins in March

By Cycle Sport staff

Le Samyn (1.1) Belgium
Dominic Klemme (Ger) Leopard-Trek

Giro del Friuli (1.1) Italy
Jose Serpa (Col) Androni Giocatolli

Driedaagse van West-Vlaanderen (2.1) Belgium
Stage one: Jesse Sergent (NZ) RadioShack
Stage two: John Degenkolb (Ger) HTC-Highroad
Stage three: Nico Eeckhout (Bel) An Post-Sean Kelly
Overall winner: Jesse Sergent (NZ) RadioShack

Vuelta a Murcia (2.1) Spain
Stage one: Michael Matthews (Aus) Rabobank
Stage two: Alberto Contador (Spa) Saxo Bank
Stage three: Alberto Contador (Spa) Saxo Bank
Overall winner: Alberto Contador (Spa) Saxo Bank

Strade Bianche (1.1) Italy
Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega-Lotto

Paris-Nice (WT) France
Stage one: Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Vacansoleil
Stage two: Greg Henderson (NZ) Sky
Stage three: Matt Goss (Aus) HTC-Highroad
Stage four: Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Europcar
Stage five: Andreas Klöden (Ger) RadioShack
Stage six: Tony Martin (Ger) HTC-Highroad
Stage seven: Rémy Di Gregorio (Fra) Astana
Stage eight: Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Europcar
Overall standings
1 Tony Martin (Ger) HTC-Highroad
2 Andreas Klöden (Ger) RadioShack
3 Bradley Wiggins (GB) Sky

Tirreno-Adriatico (WT) Italy
Stage one: Rabobank
Stage two: Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin-Cervélo
Stage three: Juan Jose Haedo (Arg) Saxo Bank
Stage four: Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre-ISD
Stage five: Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega-Lotto
Stage six: Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC
Stage seven: Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Leopard-Trek
Overall standings:
1 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC
2 Robert Gesink (Ned) Rabobank
3 Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre-ISD

Nokere-Koerse (1.1) Belgium
Gert Steegmans (Bel) Quick Step

Handzame Classic (1.1) Belgium
Steve Schets (Bel) Donckers Koffie-Jelly Belly

Classic Loire Atlantique (1.1) France
Lieuwe Westra (Ned) Vacansoleil

Milan-San Remo (WT) Italy
1 Matt Goss (Aus) HTC-Highroad
2 Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Leopard-Trek
3 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega-Lotto

Cholet-Pays de Loire (1.1) France
Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Europcar

Tour of Catalonia (WT) Spain
Stage one: Gatis Smukulis (Lat) HTC-Highroad
Stage two: Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Lampre-ISD
Stage three: Alberto Contador (Spa) Saxo Bank-Sungard
Stage four: Manuel Cardoso (Por) RadioShack
Stage five: Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) Cofidis
Stage six: Jose Joaquin Rojas (Spa) Movistar
Stage seven: Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) Cofidis
Overall standings:
1 Alberto Contador (Spa) Saxo Bank-Sungard
2 Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre-ISD
3 Daniel Martin (Ire) Garmin-Cervélo

Settimana Coppi e Bartali (2.1) Italy
Stage one (a): Manuel Belleti (Ita) Colnago-CSF Inox
Stage one (b): Androni Giocattoli
Stage two: Claudio Corioni (Ita) Acqua e Sapone
Stage three: Emanuele Sella (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
Stage four: Adriano Malori (Ita) Lampre-ISD
Stage five: Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Farnese Vini-Neri
Overall winner: Emanuele Sella (Ita) Androni Giocattoli

Dwars door Vlaanderen (1.1) Belgium
Nick Nuyens (Bel) Saxo Bank-Sungard

Critérium International (2.HC) France
Stage one: Frank Schleck (Lux) Leopard-Trek
Stage two: Simon Geschke (Ger) Skil-Shimano
Stage three: Andreas Klöden (Ger) RadioShack
Overall winner: Frank Schleck (Lux) Leopard-Trek

E3 Prijs Vlaanderen-Harelbeke (1.HC) Belgium
Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Leopard-Trek

Ghent-Wevelgem (WT) Belgium
1 Tom Boonen (Bel) Quick Step
2 Daniele Bennati (Ita) Leopard-Trek
3 Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin-Cervélo

Three Days of De Panne (2.1) Belgium
Stage one: Andre Greipel (Ger) Omega-Lotto
Stage two: Denis Galimzyanov (Rus) Katusha
Stage three (a): Jacopo Guarnieri (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale
Stage three (b): Sebastien Rosseler (Bel) RadioShack
Overall winner:Sebastien Rosseler (Bel) RadioShack

This article is from

Cycle Sport – Cycle Sport takes you behind the scenes of professional cycling, bringing you closer to the riders and the races. Our insightful interviews, indepth analysis and stunning photography bring the sport to life each month. The magazine is available in print and to download via iTunes and Google Play.

Subscribe to Cycle Sport in print » | Read the digital edition »