Extending his excellent run of results, Matt Bottrill claimed another course record in his build-up to next weekend’s national circuit time trial championships.

The www.drag2zero.com rider removed 70 seconds from Dominic Sweeney’s six-year-old mark as he clocked 20-21 for a clear victory in Kettering CC’s Frank & Joy Sheppard Memorial 10-mile time trial at Broughton, Northamptonshire.

Second place was shared by Bottrill’s team-mate Jon Simpkins and Matt Sinclair (Lutterworth Cycle Centre RT), who both recorded 21-16 on wet roads over the single carriageway course.

National champion at the distance, Michael Hutchinson (In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT) recorded the fastest ‘10′ of the weekend with 18-14 for victory in the Team Swift Charity event on the renowned South Cave-Welton course in East Yorkshire.

James Gullen (Team Hope Factory Racing) was 16 seconds down on Hutchinson in windy conditions to take second place.

Multi-national champion Julia Shaw (www.drag2zero.com) also enjoyed a winning warm-up for the circuit championships with victory in round six of the RTTC Time Trial Series.

Shaw covered a 15.7-mile course based on Southend-Bradfield, near Reading, in 40-19 to win the women’s event by 33 seconds from Rebecca Slack (Look Mum No Hands) with third place going to Bronwen Ewing (Trainsharp RT) in 41.30.

Victory in the two-lap senior men’s event went to Danny Axford (Artic-SRAM RT) in 1-12-50, beating James Gilfillan (Velorefined Aerosmniths), who covered the second circuit six seconds quicker, by 15 seconds.

Andrew Perkins (Mid Devon CC) was a 20-second winner of the One And All 25-mile time trial in Cornwall, clocking 52-20 to win from Alessandro Gourley (Penzance Wheelers) over a new version of the Victoria-based S100/25 course.

A 20-second late start failed to deny Keith Murray (Strategic Lions Cycling) the win in North Shropshire Wheelers’ ‘25′ at Prees, his 53-52 putting him 19 seconds clear of Dave Crawley (Fibrax Wrexham RC).

Jason Bouttell (Team Velovelocity) missed a 30mph ride by a single second, clocking 20-01 to win Anglia Velo’s 10-mile event, while James Perkins (Team Zenith Buzz Cycles) took the honours with 20-13 in Leicester Forest CC’s ‘10′.

Joel Wainman led a Team Swift one-two in the Yorkshire CF ‘30′ at Knaresborough, recording 1-03-46 to win by 39 seconds from team-mate Alastair Wareham.

This article is from

Cycling Weekly – In print and online, Cycling Weekly is the best source of breaking news, race reportage, reliable fitness advice, trustworthy product reviews and inspirational features. First published in 1891, the magazine has an amazing and unrivalled heritage, having been at the heart of British cycling for over 120 years.

Subscribe to Cycling Weekly in print » | Read the digital edition »