Giro d’Italia

The Giro d’Italia 2015 kicks off with a team time trial on Saturday May 9 in San Lorenzo Al Mare and finishes in Milan three weeks and 21 stages later, on Sunday May 31.

The 2015 route includes six mountain finishes and a long 59.2-kilometre individual time trial, providing an ideal showcase for the overall contenders. For the sprinters, there are six flat stages to take the honours in bunch finishes.

Nairo Quintana (Movistar) became the first Colombian to win the race in 2014, but is scheduled not return to defend his title in 2015 as he concentrates on the Tour de France in July.

Former Giro winner and defending Tour de France champion Vincenzo Nibali is also likely to skip the Italian race, handing Astana leadership over to Fabio Aru. Aru will face 2014 runner-up Rigoberto Uran (Omega Pharma-QuickStep).

Previous editions: 2014 Giro | 2013 Giro | 2012 Giro | 2011 Giro | 2010 Giro