Milan – San Remo

>>Kristoff wins 2014 Milan-San remo

Milan-San Remo is the first classic of the cycling season, and this year is one for the sprinters after the climb of Pompeiana was taken out. The route is predominantly flat with the two climbs of Cipressa (5.6km with a 4.1 percent average gradient) and the Poggio (3.7km with a 3.7 per cent average gradient) coming right at the end of the 294km race.

The list of previous winners is a who’s who of professional cycling from pure sprinters, to grand tour winners with classics riders inbetween. Aside from the regular inclusion and exclusion of certain climbs, the race follows a traditional route from outside the Milan cathederal down to the coast of north west Italy, near the border with France.

Milan-San Remo will be shown live on British Eurosport 1 – 4pm. You can also follow the race via their twitter feed, teams will also be tweeting from the event using the #MSR hashtag.

Key riders: Mark Cavendish | Fabian Cancellara | Peter Sagan | Michal Kwiatkowski | Philippe Gilbert

Previous editions: 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009

Milan – San Remo map | Milan – San Remo preview | Milan – San Remo in pictures