Full details of each stage of the 2009 Tour de France have been published on the race’s official website today.

Tour organiser Amaury Sports Organisation provides a comprehensive breakdown of each of the 21 stages in this year’s race, including estimated time schedule.

This year’s Tour starts in Monaco with a 15.5km time trial on Saturday July 4 and finishes three weeks later on the Champs Elysees in Paris on Sunday July 26.

The 3,500km route comprises of 10 flat stages, eight mountain stages, two individual time trial stages and one team time trial stage. Three of the stages end with a mountain top finish.

Those taking part in the 2009 Etape du Tour (Monday, July 20) will want to study the schedule for stage 20 to Mont Ventoux to see exactly what they are letting themselves in for.

Earlier in the year we picked out which stages we think that Britain’s Mark Cavendish has a chance of winning. Cycling Weekly’s week-by-week guide to the 2009 Tour is in the News section

Stage Date From To Length
1 Saturday 4 July Monaco Monaco 15.5km
2 Sunday 5 July Monaco Brignoles 187km
3 Monday 6 July Marseille La Grande-Motte 196.5km
4 Tuesday 7 July Montpellier Montpellier 39km
5 Wednesday 8 July Le Cap d’Agde Perpignan 196.5km
6 Thursday 9 July Gérone Barcelone 181.5km
7 Friday 10 July Barcelone Andorre Arcalis 224km
8 Saturday 11 July Andorre-la-Vieille Saint-Girons 176.5km
9 Sunday 12 July Saint-Gaudens Tarbes 160.5km
R Monday 13 July Rest day, Limoges - -
10 Tuesday 14 July Limoges Issoudun 194.5km
11 Wednesday 15 July Vatan Saint-Fargeau 192km
12 Thursday 16 July Tonnerre Vittel 211.5km
13 Friday 17 July Vittel Colmar 200km
14 Saturday 18 July Colmar Besançon 199km
15 Sunday 19 July Pontarlier Verbier 207.5km
R Monday 20 July Rest day, Verbier - -
16 Tuesday 21 July Martigny Bourg-Saint-Maurice 159km
17 Wednesday 22 July Bourg-Saint-Maurice Le Grand-Bornand 169.5km
18 Thursday 23 July Annecy Annecy 40.5km
19 Friday 24 July Bourgoin-Jallieu Aubenas 178km
20 Saturday 25 July Montélimar Mont Ventoux 167km
21 Sunday 26 July Montereau-Fault-Yonne Paris Champs-Élysées 164km

EXTERNAL LINK
Tour de France official website: www.letour.com

TOUR DE FRANCE 2009 LINKS

2009 Tour de France spectator’s guide
2009 Tour de France: Week-by-week guide
Nine reasons why Mont Ventoux is a symbolic climb
Analysis: Mont Ventoux to decide the Tour
Inside the Tour: 2009 race by numbers
Etape du Tour 2009: It’s the Ventoux
2009 Tour de France route stage-by-stage

This article is from

Cycling Weekly – In print and online, Cycling Weekly is the best source of breaking news, race reportage, reliable fitness advice, trustworthy product reviews and inspirational features. First published in 1891, the magazine has an amazing and unrivalled heritage, having been at the heart of British cycling for over 120 years.

Subscribe to Cycling Weekly in print » | Read the digital edition »