Tour of Britain

Westminster, Tour of Britain 2013, stage eight

Dylan Van Baarle (Garmin-Sharp) won the 2014 Tour of Britain ahead of Michal Kwiatkowski (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) in second and defending champion Bradley Wiggins (Sky) in third.

This year’s Tour of Britain (September 7-14 2014) started in Liverpool and will finish in London with a split final stage after visiting Knowsley, Llandudno, Newtown, the Tumble, Worcester, Bristol, Exeter, Bath, Hemel Hempstead and Brighton.

BMC Racing Team will make its debut in the race alongside fellow WorldTour-level squads Garmin-Sharp, Movistar, Team Sky, Omega Pharma-QuickStep, Giant-Shimano, Tinkoff-Saxo, Cannondale and Belkin.

Race info: Start list | TV guide | Contenders | Race preview

Key riders: Alex Dowsett | Bradley Wiggins | Mark Cavendish | Marcel Kittel | Sylvain Chavanel | Michal Kwiatkowski

Ditchling Beacon, Tour of Britain 2014, stage seven

Was 2014 the best Tour of Britain ever?

The toughest and best ever edition of the modern Tour of Britain: that was the verdict after this year’s race produced thrills and spills aplenty, and the GC battle went…