Vuelta a Espana 2014

The start list of the Vuelta a Espana has been improving throughout the Tour de France as the favourites have crashed out. Chris Froome is likely to ride the Tour of Spain since the 2011 edition in which he finished second. The Sky rider crashed out of the Tour de France on stage five suffering a fractured wrist and hand.

Alberto Contador, who crashed out five stages later, however has ruled himself out of the race as suffers complications to the wound on his leg as well as the fracture of the tibia itself. Winner of the Giro, Nairo Quintana, is also likely to ride while sprinter Mark Cavendish remains unsure whether or not he will be ready in time.

Key riders: Chris Froome | Nairo Quintana | Joaquim Rodriguez | Cadel Evans all provisional

Stage 1: Sat Aug 23 – Jerez de la Frontera – Jerez de la Frontera 12.6km TTT
Stage 2: Sun Aug 24 – Algeciras – San Fernando 174.4km
Stage 3: Mon Aug 25 – Cadiz – Arcos de la Frontera 188km
Stage 4: Tues Aug 26 – Mairena del Alcor – Cordoba 172.6km
Stage 5: Wed Aug 27 – Priego de Cordoba – Ronda 182.3km
Stage 6: Thur Aug 28 – Benalmadena – La Zubia 157.7km
Stage 7: Fri Aug 29 – Alhendin – Alcaucete 165.4km
Stage 8: Sat Aug 30 – Baeza – Albacete 207.4km
Stage 9: Sun Aug 31 – Carboneras de Guadazaon – Aramon Valdelinares 181km
Rest day
Stage 10: Tues Sept 2 – Real Monasterio de Santa Maria de Veruela – Borja 34.5km ITT
Stage 11: Weds Sept 3 – Pamplona – Santuario de San Miguel de Aralar 151km
Stage 12: Thur Sept 4 – Logroño – Logroño 168km
Stage 13: Fri Sept 5 – Belorado – Obregon 182km
Stage 14: Sat Sept 6 – Santander – La Camperona 199km
Stage 15: Sun Sept 7 – Oviedo – Lagos de Covadonga 149km
Stage 16: Mon Sept 8 – San Martin del Rey Aureilo – La Farrapona 158.8km
Rest day
Stage 17: Weds Sept 10 – Ortigueira – A Coruña 174km
Stage 18: Thurs Sept 11 – A Estrada – Mont Castrove 173.5km
Stage 19: Fri Sept 12 – Salvaterra do Miño – Cangas do Morrazo 176.5km
Stage 20: Sat Sept 13 – Santo Estevo de Ribas de Sil – Puerto de Ancares 163.8km
Stage 21: Sun Sept 14 – Santiago de Compostela – Santiago de Compostela 10km ITT

Beach, Vuelta a Espana 2013, stage 19

Vuelta a Espana 2014 route revealed

Vuelta a Espana features eight mountain-top finishes, three time trials, with final stage ending in Santiago de Compostela