August 20 – September 11, 2016

>>> Vuelta a España route 2016 confirmed

The 2016 Vuelta a España looks set to be the toughest Grand Tour of the year with ten new summit finishes throughout the three weeks of racing.

As with the 2015 edition the Spanish race will once again start with a team time trial, but the organisers will hope to avoid the controversy that surrounded stage one in 2015.

With the Vuelta coming towards the end of the season and 2016 being an Olympic year, it will be a long time before it’s clear who will be fit and willing to target the Vuelta. For some riders the Tour de France remains the focus, with the Vuelta playing back-up.

If the last few years are anything to go by, whatever riders’ reasoning for taking the start line in Laias do Miño on August 20, this will still be a fan favourite.

Key info: 2016 Vuelta route | Vuelta videos | Brits in the Tours | Stage-by-stage video highlights

Previous editions: 2015 Vuelta | 2014 Vuelta

Nicholas Roche wins Stage 18 of the 2015 Vuelta Espana from Haimar Zubeldia

Stage 18, September 10 Fantastic racing terrain on Thursday through Castille and Leon country where narrow roads swoop down through forests and up among spectacular rock pillars. The roads were…