PNC15_Carte generique_sans legendeThe 2016 Paris-Nice, the 74th edition of the prestigious race, will open with a 6.8km Prologue in Confians-Sainte-Honorine before taking on seven tough stages including dirt roads and mountain passes.

The most notable for Tour de France fans, will be the climb up to Chalet Reynard, part of the famous slopes of Mont Ventoux, which feature in early section of stage five.

The main summit finish of the 2016 Race to the Sun, where the GC is likely to be decided, will come on La Madone d’Utelle on stage six, before a mountainous final stage out and back from Nice will see the last showdown for the riders.

Richie Porte, then with Sky, took his second career victory in the race in 2015, and is likely to return to the race for 2016 with his new BMC team as he builds to the Tour de France.

The likes of Chris Froome (Team Sky), Alberto Contador (Tinkoff) and Fabio Aru (Astana), could all also feature in the race as they too look to build form for the Tour in July.

Where: France
When: March 6-13, 2016
Rank: UCI WorldTour

Key info: The route

Website: Paris-Nice

Richie Porte wins stage four of the 2015 Paris-Nice (Watson)

Five things we learned from Paris-Nice

Paris-Nice was a race that started slowly (literally) but really gained in pace towards the end (not literally). The race once again threw up a few interesting storylines, not least…

Paris-Nice - Stage Six

Tony Gallopin takes dramatic stage win at Paris-Nice

Tony Gallopin (Lotto-Soudal) won the stage and moved into the overall lead in a thrilling penultimate day’s racing at Paris-Nice. The Frenchman attacked the lead group on the lower slopes…

Paris-Nice - Prologue

Michal Kwiatkowski wins Paris-Nice prologue

Michal Kwiatkowski (Etixx-Quick-Step) moved into an early race lead at the 2015 Paris-Nice, winning Sunday’s prologue narrowly ahead of Australian Rohan Dennis (BMC). Having started an hour-and-a-half ahead of the Polish…

The peloton on stage eight of the 2014 Paris-Nice

Where to watch Paris-Nice 2015

Over a week of top cycling action begins this weekend (March 7/8) with Italian one-day Classic Strade Bianche and the start of the prestigious stage race, Paris-Nice. As usual, the…

The peloton on stage six of the 2014 Paris-Nice

Paris-Nice 2015 preview

Comprehensive look ahead to Paris-Nice 2015 (March 8-15): stages, teams, past winners and more