Tour of Poland

The Tour of Poland’s rich 70 year history is somewhat lessened by it’s position on the calendar. Starting one week after the Tour de France it struggles to pull in big riders. Rafal Majka’s presence will help keep home fans happy as he follows on from his heroics at the Tour.

The race has been won by a variety of riders over the years, from climbers to sprinters and all-rounders. Stages five and six should be key to the outcome with a summit finish over 1,200m on stage five and a brutal looking profile on stage six. More information can be found on the official race website

Stage 1: Sunday, August 3. Gdansk – Bydgoszcz, 226km |
Stage 2: Monday, August 4. Torun – Warsaw, 226km | >>Report
Stage 3: Tuesday, August 5. Kielce – Rzeszow, 174km | Report
Stage 4: Wednesday, August 6. Tarnow – Katowice, 236km | >>Report
Stage 5: Thursday, August 7. Zakopane – Strbske Pleso, 190km | >>Report
Stage 6: Friday, August 8. Bukovina – Bukovina, 174km | >>Report
Stage 7: Saturday, August 9. Krakov – Krakov, 25km ITT | Report

Key riders: Rafal Majka | Edvald Boasson Hagen | Ryder Hesjedal

Key reading: Race preview | Who will win

Tour of Poland - Stage 6

Majka wins again to lead Tour of Poland

Rafal Majka (Tinkoo-Saxo) won for second day in a row at the Tour of Poland, and moves into the overall lead. Previous leader Petr Vakoc (Omegas Pharma-Quick Step) drops down…

Tour of Poland - Stage 5

Rafal Majka gives home crowd something to cheer

Rafal Majka’s (Tinkoff-Saxo) extraordinary summer continues, with victory in stage five of the Tour of Poland. The Pole moves us to second overall in the general classification behind Petr Vakoc…

Tour of Poland - Stage 4

Vangenechten takes Poland stage in close sprint

Jonas Vangenechten (Lotto-Belisol) came out best in a closely contested sprint to win stage four of the Tour of Poland. Vangenechten’s success continues a run of surprise victors in Poland…

Tour of Poland - Stage 2

Petr Vakoc wins in Poland

Czech rider Petr Vakoc (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) claimed a surprise victory in stage two of the Tour of Poland. The win is the biggest of the 21-year old’s career, and…

Rafal Majka attacks on stage seventeen of the 2014 Tour de France

Tour of Poland – Who will win?

Pieter Weening (Orica-GreenEdge) ***** The defending champion made a winning return to racing at the Giro della Toscana a few days ago, suggesting he has the form to be crowned…

Pieter Weening tops final podium, Tour of Poland 2013, stage 7 TT

Tour of Poland preview

Much has been made of the current golden generation of British and Colombian cyclists, but one nation that has gone under the radar is Poland. In Rafal Majka (Tinkoff-Saxo) and…