Tour de France

Tour de France 2014 mapJuly 4-26 2015

The 2015 Tour de France looks set to be one for the climbers with three mountainous days in the Pyrenees followed by two big days in the Alps at the end of the three weeks. The penultimate day of the race finishes at the top of Alpe d’Huez.

Reigning champion Vincenzo Nibali has skipped the Giro d’Italia in favour of defending his title, while Chris Froome, one of the strongest climbers in the pro peloton, will also line up with the aim of taking his second victory.

Nairo Quintana is also expected to challenge for the yellow jersey, particularly as this year’s route looks to favour him with only one short individual time trial and one team time trial.

In terms of experience, however, no-one can match two-time winner Alberto Contador, who will continue his quest for a Giro-Tour double when he takes the start in Utrecht.

The cobbles of northern France feature once again as will the famously steep Mur de Huy in Belgium. Following the start in Utrecht – the Tour’s 21st foreign start – the race makes its way across the north of France before the transfer to the Pyrenees.

Key info: 2015 Tour route | Contenders (video) | Route analysis | Tour videos | TV Guide

Key riders: Vincenzo Nibali | Chris Froome | Alberto Contador | Nairo Quintana

Previous editions: 2014 TdF | 2013 TdF | 2012 TdF | 2011 TdF | 2010 TdF

Sean Yates, Liege-Bastogne-Liege 2015. Photo: Yuzuru Sunada

Sean Yates: Back at the Tour de France

I once bet Sean Yates €100 that Michal Kwiatkowski would win a particular race. It was agreed publicly through Twitter and we didn’t shake on it; as far as I…

Luca Paolini

Luca Paolini: Beard power

Katusha's Tour de France captain and Ghent-Wevelgem winner Luca Paolini talks about his lucky-charm facial hair