Tour of Britain 2016 stage four

Steve Cummings (Dimension Data) successfully retained his overall lead in the 2016 Tour of Britain after Saturday’s split stage, featuring a time trial in the morning and circuit race in the afternoon.

Cummings finished the morning’s short 15km TT in fourth place behind stage winner Tony Martin (Etixx-QuickStep) and key general classification rivals Rohan Dennis (BMC) and Tom Dumoulin (Giant-Alpecin).

Cummings went into the penultimate stage with a 38-second buffer over Dumoulin and Dennis. That was short-lived, however, as Dennis attacked on the final climb of the circuit race to take the win and close the gap to 26 seconds.

One stage remain in the 2016 Tour of Britain: Sunday’s 100km flat final stage in London. With a 26-second buffer to Dennis, Cummings should be able to seal the overall victory if he stays vigilant and doesn’t let Dennis claim any bonus sprint seconds or slip away.

General classification after stage 7B
1. Steve Cummings (GBr) Dimension Data
2. Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC Racing at 26 secs
3. Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Giant-Alpecin at 38 secs
4. Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto-Soudal at 1-02
5. Dylan Van Baarle (Ned) Cannondale-Drapac at 1-21
6. Nicolas Roche (Irl) Team Sky at 1-26
7. Xandro Meurisse (Bel) Wanty-Groupe Gobert at 1-48
8. Ben Swift (GBr) Team Sky at 1-52
9. Julien Vermote (Bel) Etixx-QuickStep at 2-12
10. Jacopo Mosca (Ita) Trek-Segafredo at 2-32


Where: Britain
When: September 4-11 2016
Rank: UCI Europe Tour 2.HC

The 2016 Tour of Britain will kick-off in Glasgow on September 4, beginning it’s 1308.5km journey down the west of the UK before finishing up with the final stage in London a week later.

There’s a mix of stages en route, with some sprint finishes and some difficult climbs, including a summit finish on the Haytor climb in Dartmoor.

Britain’s Simon Yates, now riding for Orica-GreenEdge, took the win atop Haytor the last time the race finished up there on stage six of the 2013 edition of the Tour of Britain.

Unlike in 2014, last year’s final day just featured a criterium stage around Westminster rather than a split stage including a short time trial: there was no test against the clock and that will be repeated in 2016, with a split stage featuring the day before in Bristol instead.

Julien Vermote, Tour of Britain 2016 stage three

Julien Vermote, Tour of Britain 2016 stage three

Edvald Boasson Hagen took overall victory for MTN-Qhubeka in the 2015 Tour of Britain after a consistent performance throughout the race, but did so without taking a stage victory.

The Norwegian put in a particularly impressive performance on the hilliest stage of the route that finished on Hartside Fell, Cumbria, finishing narrowly behind stage winner Wout Poels (Team Sky).

Dylan Van Baarle (Garmin-Sharp) won the 2014 Tour of Britain ahead of Michal Kwiatkowski (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) in second, while Sir Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky) won the race in 2013.

Twenty teams will compete across the eight stages, including a mix of WorldTour and domestic squads.

Tour of Britain 2016 route

Tour of Britain 2016 route

Stage 1, Sunday September 4, Glasgow – Castle Douglas, 168km
Stage 2, Monday September 5, Carlisle – Kendal, 195km
Stage 3, Tuesday September 6, Congleton – Tatton Park, Knutsford, 182km
Stage 4, Wednesday September 7, Denbigh – Builth Wells, 217km
Stage 5, Thursday September 8, Aberdare to Bath, 205km
Stage 6, Friday September 9, Sidmouth to Haytor, 150km
Stage 7, split stage, Saturday September 10, Bristol individual time trial, 15km Bristol circuit race, 76.5km
Stage 8, Sunday September 11, London circuit race, 100km

Key info: Route/stages | Start list | Live TV guide | Iconic ToB photos

Steve Cummings on stage 13 of the 2016 Tour de France

The Tour of Britain 2016 stage 7a time trial takes place in Bristol on Saturday morning over 15km. The full list of riders taking part, and their start times, is…