Hour Record

Current holder: Alex Dowsett (52.937km)

The Hour record is one of the most prestigious records in cycling with roots dating back to 1893 when it was set by Henri Desgrange, the man who would go on to create and run the Tour de France. In the mid 1990s the record was repeatedly broken on increasingly advanced equipment forcing the sports governing body, the UCI, in to creating a set of regulations that stifled record attempts and confused the record books.

>>> View timeline of the Hour record

The record was effectively reset this May when the UCI standardised the equipment regulations, bringing them inline with Olympic track cycling, and announcing the current record of 49.7km (previously called the ‘athletes hour’ as it was set on equipment similar to that used by Eddy Merckx in 1972) would stand as the mark to beat.

Fabian Cancellara had expressed interest in attacking the record, but his challenge thus far has not materialised. Instead, his retiring team mate Jens Voigt successfully set a new record of 51.115km in Switzerland on September 18 2014, followed six weeks later by Matthias Brändle’s mark of 51.850km set on October 30. After Jack Bobridge’s unsuccessful attempt at the end of January 2015, his Australian compatriot Rohan Dennis successfully set a new mark of 52.491km on February 8.

Britain’s Alex Dowsett was the next to take up the mantle, and after having to postpone an initial attempt in February 2015, Dowsett successfully broke Dennis’s record by over 400 metres, setting a distance of 52.937 at the Manchester velodrome on May 2.

2015 Hour Record contenders: Bradley Wiggins | Alex Dowsett | Rohan Dennis | Jack Bobridge | Tony Martin | Fabian Cancellara

Hour record
Alex Dowsett (GBr) 52.937km Manchester, 2/5/2015
Rohan Dennis (Aus) 52.491km Switzerland, 8/2/2015
Matthias Brändle (Aut) 51.852km Switzerland, 30/10/2014
Jens Voigt (Ger) 51.115km Switzerland, 18/09/2014
Ondrej Sosenka (Cze) 49.700km Moscow, 19/07/2005
Chris Boardman (GBr) 49.441km Manchester, 27/10/2000
———— All records below set prior to the Lugano Charter ————
Chris Boardman (GBr) 56.375km Manchester, 06/09/1996*
Tony Rominger (Sui) 55.291km Bordeaux, 05/11/1994
Tony Rominger (Sui) 53.832km Bordeaux, 22/10/1994
Miguel Indurain (Spa) 53.040km Bordeaux, 02/09/1994
Graeme Obree (GBr) 52.719km Bordeaux, 27/04/1994*
Chris Boardman (GBr) 52.270km Bordeaux, 23/07/1993
Francesco Moser (Ita) 51.840km Mexico, 15/01/1994
Graeme Obree (GBr) 51.596km Hamar, 17/07/1993†
*Superman position
†Tuck position
Source: UCI

Alex Dowsett (Photo: Dan Gould)

Alex Dowsett breaks UCI Hour Record

Britain’s Alex Dowsett has broken the UCI Hour Record, riding 52.937km, overcoming Rohan Dennis’s mark by more 400 metres. Having had to postpone his initial attempt back in February after…