Belgian | Team website

Likeable old-school Belgian team who walk the fine line between organisational competence and chaos. Lotto would usually attack the Tour de France on two fronts, with André Greipel in the sprints and Jurgen Van den Broeck in the overall. Neither of which work particulary well.

But Van den Broeck won’t take part this year after falling short consistently (six times), eyeing a shot at some of the shorter stage races instead. So Frenchman Tony Gallopin will probably be the team’s other leader, after he grabbed a stage win and the maillot jaune for a day at last year’s Tour.

On past results though, Greipel’s probably the safer bet — he’s won stages in the last four Tours. Lotto also sport grand tour hardman Adam Hansen, who’s finished all three grand tours for the last three years and is likely to be breaking-away, wearing his own shoes and drinking a beer up a mountain all over again in 2015.

Sporadic in form but not in fashion; Lotto can surely be a contender to claim the title of most stylish kit for this season.

neo pros

Seven top WorldTour neo-pros of 2015

This 2015 season showed that the new professional cyclists can not only fit in, but also ride side by side and win against their WorldTour colleagues. Belgian Tiesj Benoot placed…

Philippe Gilbert beat the Schlecks to win the 2011 LBL. Photo: Graham Watson

Will Philippe Gilbert return to Lotto in 2017?

As his illustrious career reaches its twilight, Philippe Gilbert is reportedly considering a move back to the Lotto team when his contract at BMC expires at the end of 2016.…

Matteo Trentin wins Stage 5 of the 2015 Tour of Britain

Matteo Trentin wins Paris-Tours

Matteo Trentin (Etixx-Quick Step) held off the challenge of Tosh Van der Sande (Lotto-Soudal) to win his first Paris-Tours title. The Italian, who won a stage of the Tour of…