Team Sky

Team Sky entered the pro peloton in 2010 with the bold aim of winning the Tour de France with a British rider within five years. Just three years later it achieved its goal when Bradley Wiggins was crowned the first British winner in 2012.

The success didn’t stop there. The team leader for 2013 was different but the result was the same, as Chris Froome claimed victory in Paris — and two years later he did it again with a dominant performance in 2015.

Bringing its knowledge and philosophies across from the British Cycling track programme, Dave Brailsford and the team changed the way many others operated in the pro scene. Its attention to detail – commonly known as marginal gains – and increased focus on coaches working within the team saw many others follow suit.

2015 has been a hugely successful season for Sky, with overall wins in Paris-Nice (Richie Porte), Omloop Het Nieuwsblad (Ian Stannard), E3 Harelbeke (Geraint Thomas), the Tour de Yorkshire (Lars Petter Nordhaug) and the Criterium du Dauphine (Chris Froome) — all topped off that by the team’s third Tour de France title.

Official website:
Twitter feed: @TeamSky
Facebook page: Facebook/TeamSky


Who are Team Sky’s newest signings?

Team Sky finalised their 2016 lineup by announcing the signing of 2014 world champion Michal Kwiatkowski – their seventh new arrival. But who are these new boys, and what have…

Mikel Landa makes his winning attack on stage 16 of the 2015 Giro d'Italia. Photo: Graham Watson

Team Sky confirm Mikel Landa signing

The signings just keep on coming for Team Sky, with Astana’s Mikel Landa becoming the fifth rider to join the British team in the last week and sixth in total. The…

INTXAUSTI Benat071pp

Beñat Intxausti signs for Team Sky from Movistar

Team Sky have announced their fifth signing of the 2015, Spaniard Beñat Intxausti who joins from the Movistar team whom he has raced with for five seasons. The 29-year-old joins…