Where: Doha, Qatar
When: October 9-16 2016

The 2016 UCI Road Cycling World Championships take place in Doha, Qatar, in October – slightly later than its usual September slot in order to try and avoid the high temperatures of the region.

World titles are contested for road race, individual time trial and team time trial events. In the road race and individual TT, there are categories for elite men, elite women, junior men, under-23 men and junior women. The TTT is run using trade rather than national teams.

Winners of the senior individual time trial and road race earn the right to wear the coveted rainbow jersey of world champion for the following 12 months in that discipline.

The 2015 events in Richmond, USA, reached a stunning climax with two thrilling road races — the women’s event won by Lizzie Armitstead (Great Britain) and the men’s by Peter Sagan (Slovakia).

Among the other leading performers were American junior rider Chloe Dygert, who completed the double of road race and time trial.

The men’s elite time trial had a surprise winner when Vasil Kiryienka of Belarus took victory.

2016 UCI Road World Championships schedule

Times given are local time

October 9
10.30-11.50am Women’s team time trial
2.30-4.40pm Men’s team time trial

October 10
9.30-10.40am Junior women’s individual time trial
11.30am-3.50pm Under-23 men individual time trial

October 11
9.00am-12.30pm Junior men individual time trial
1.15-4.30pm Elite women individual time trial

October 12
1.45-4.05pm Elite men individual time trial

October 13
12.00pm-3.55pm Under-23 men road race

October 14
8.30-10.30am Junior women road race

October 15
12.45-4.20pm Elite women road race

October 16
10.30am-4.35pm Elite men road race

2015 world champions

Women’s team time trial: Velocio-SRAM
Men’s team time trial: BMC Racing
Women’s junior time trial: Chloe Dygert (USA)
Men’s U23 time trial: Mads Wurtz Schmidt (Denmark)
Men’s junior time trial: Leo Appelt (Germany)
Women’s elite time trial: Linda Villumsen (New Zealand)
Men’s elite time trial: Vasil Kiryienka (Belarus)
Women’s junior road race: Chloe Dygert (USA)
Men’s under-23 road race: Kevin Ledanois (France)
Men’s junior road race: Felix Gall (Austria)
Women’s elite road race: Lizzie Armitstead (Great Britain)
Men’s elite road race: Peter Sagan (Slovakia)

Lizzie Armitstead wins the 2015 Womens World Road Championships

Lizzie Armitstead’s 2015 season was truly fantastic, with an early-season victory at the Tour of Qatar followed up by wins at Trofeo Alfredo Binda, the Philadelphia International Cycling Classic and…

Peter Sagan in world champion's kit

New world champion Peter Sagan will tomorrow line up at the Abu Dhabi Tour for his first race in the rainbow jersey. However the main talking point surrounding the unveiling…